About Our Family

I'm Meg.  (Hi!)  I'm a stay-home Mom to five kids, all with special needs.  Their dad, Neal, and I have been married for 20 years.  We met in college, via the school's intranet system.  I was a theater major with an English lit minor, while he was a business major.  We married six weeks after he graduated from college, and it's been a wild ride ever since.  I'm originally from Philadelphia (grew up in the city proper) and now live in the farm country of southern NJ.  Our family business is supplying packing boxes and crates to farmers, and since you can't move the farm fields to the city, the city girl moved to the farm.

Welcome to our blog!  You'll find bits about our life, homeschooling and otherwise.  When I started blogging, Jude was our only homeschooler, and he was in preschool.  He's now a big fifth grader, and we've added several more homeschoolers.  We are slowly changing our focus from lots of little-kid-friendly how-tos to more conversational updates of what we've done recently and things I've learned along the way.  I'm part of the  Homeschool Review Crew, as well as a few other review teams, so look for lots of product reviews in addition to what we're doing on our "regular" days.  We love trying out new things.

We also love road tripping.  Over the last few summers, we've traveled to 46 of the 50 states -- National Parks sites are our favorite destinations. Our most recent bio pictures were taken at Herring Cove and Nauset Light beaches, part of Cape Cod National Seashore.

Roll call!!

Luke is our oldest and first homeschool graduate.  He attended Catholic schools through 9th grade but joined our homeschool when his high school closed in June 2013.  After taking a gap year to work in our family business, he headed off to college to study business. He's on track to graduate from Rowan College at Gloucester County with his Associate's in 2019, and then will transfer to Rowan University for his Bachelor's.  Rowan U. was his first choice school, but since the schools have a partnership that guarantees course transfer, and RCGC was only about 2/3 the cost, the checkbook is much less stressed with his plan.  He was my right-hand man at Lilla Rose - Strawberry Princess until he passed the torch to Matthew, and is the author of the series Luke's American Adventures and Real Men Make Quiche.

 Matthew is our second foray into homeschooling high school but has an entirely different perspective on learning than his brother.  ADHD makes learning a challenge for him.  He is in the 11th grade and is excited to finally be through with most of his core classes. 11th and 12th grade focuses have been o  can focus on maths, science, and engineering. He had straight 100 course-end averages for Geometry, Algebra II, and Trig, and it took until the second week of Calculus to say "That needed a little bit of thinking!" He hasn't made any career decisions yet but is also working as needed in the family business.
Celia is our Tomboy Princess.  She currently attends a local private Christian academy and will graduate from 8th grade in June 2018.  She's decided to homeschool high school.  She has a condition called Eosinophilic Gastrointestinal Disorder and has a g-tube to provide her nutrition because she only tolerates about fifteen foods. However, it doesn't slow her down at all - look for lots of creative recipes that only use a few ingredients.  Celia is also an avid music and arts lover.  She plays the violin in a local youth orchestra and takes piano lessons.  She enjoys painting and hasn't met a Broadway musical she doesn't want to sing along to. 

Jude is our 10-year-old fifth grader.  His adventures as a homeschooler were the early focus of this blog, but sibs now make frequent guest appearances.  You can read about how we got started homeschooling here.  The original idea was to homeschool him a year or two before starting back in private school, but it didn't quite work that way.  His favorite subjects are American history (especially the Founding Fathers), zoology, and anything in a National Parks Junior Ranger program. 

Damien is the typical "wait for me" littlest brother.  He's in second grade by age, but a voracious learner working at a third-grade level. He has EGID and a G-tube, just like his sister, so he's her official recipe taste-tester.  He has never been in a bricks-and-mortar school, so it's been interesting teaching a child completely "from scratch."  His favorite activities are Legos, training for 5Ks, and if every day could be Halloween so he could dress up, that would be perfect.

You may also see some kitties skulking in the background of photos.  Toby and Henrietta are a set of boy/girl littermates, and Annie is a rescue kitty.  The girls are typical cats --they are affectionate when they deign to acknowledge you.  Toby, our kitty who thought he was part puppy, will only be in older pictures, as he passed away in early 2014.

Thanks for coming on our Adventure with us!  We love hearing from our friends, so please comment on our posts, or stop by our Facebook Page and say hello!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Pin It button on image hover